COVID-19 : Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage sur les mesures prises par notre établissement

7 jours sur 7 | 24h sur 24

819 565-1155

Avis de décès

Chaque vie est une histoire

Carole Anto

SHERBROOKE, 6 février 2024

1946 – 2024

It is with great sadness that we inform you of the passing of Carole Anto on February 6, 2024, at the Maison Aube-Lumière, Sherbrooke, QC.  She was the loving daughter of the late Fred Anto and the late Zahoura Anto and the dear sister of the late John Anto.

She leaves to mourn her sisters: Aline, Carmen (Steve Baker); her nephews: Mark (Bianca), Jason and Ryan Baker; grand nephew Nathaniel Anto; grand nieces: Amelia and Ellenora Anto; as well as many other friends and relatives.

Family and friends will meet at the Steve L. Elkas Complex, 4230 Bertrand-Fabi, Sherbrooke, on Friday Feb. 16, 2024, from 7:00 PM to 9:00PM and on Saturday Feb. 17, 2024, from 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM.  The Funeral Service will be held at the St-Ephrem Syriac Orthodox Church, 150, 13th Ave South, Sherbrooke, on Saturday Feb. 17, 2024, at 12:00 PM, followed by the burial at the Elmwood Cemetery, Sherbrooke.

In lieu of flowers, donations to the St-Ephrem Syriac Orthodox Church, P.O. Box 671, Succ. Place de la Cité, Sherbrooke, QC, J1H 5K5 or to the Maison Aube-Lumière, 3071, 12th Ave North, Sherbrooke, QC, J1H 5H3 would be appreciated.

The family would like to express their gratitude to all the personnel of the Rose-des-Vents, CLSC and the Maison Aube-Lumière for the kind and professional care shown to Carole.

Carole was a dedicated and well-respected teacher at Sherbrooke Elementary School from 1966-1999.  Her passion and love of children allowed her to educate and prepare a whole generation of young men and women to become kind and productive members of our communities.

 

Faites parvenir un message de sympathie à la famille

Vous pouvez faire parvenir dès maintenant un message de sympathie à la famille et aux proches de la personne décédée en utilisant le formulaire ci-dessous.

Hidden

Vos messages

Very sorry to hear the news

Dear Aline,

I am out of the country and just read the news of the passing
of Carole. I am very sorry for the pain that your family and you
are experiencing.

Yours truly,

Kevin Shea

Kevin Shea

8 mars 2024

gail bishop

Peace be with you dear Carole

gail bishop

26 février 2024

So sad to hear the news

I send condolences to the friends and family.
I knew Carol from the LDWC
Collective Garden.
She was so charming , interesting and kind.
She will be missed
🙏🏻

Lori

19 février 2024

John and Kathy Elie

Please extend our most sincere sympathy to Aline Anto and all her family.
Carole had the most wonderful way of making all of us feel better for having known her and her students were so fortunate to have had such a wonderful teacher.
Carole's dedication to St. Ephrem's Church and the community was an inspiration to all. She will be sorely missed.

John and Kathy Elie

18 février 2024

To Carol's relatives

I met Carole in Germany while we were both teaching at the Canadian military base in Soelingen near Baden-Baden. We had lots of fun going on double dates during those carefree days far away from home. We became friends and kept in touch especially after I moved to Sherbrooke following my husband's retirement from the Canadian Forces. I was fortunate enough to finish my teaching career at the same school where Carole finished hers. I admired her dedication to her church, and her efforts to help with Syrian families. I will miss you Carole!

Jeanne-Mance Fortin

17 février 2024

Carole Anto

I was fortunate enough to have been one of Carole's students at Sherbrooke Elementary, the first year SHS changed to an elementary school. An amazing teacher and pretty fast at football too in the school yard back then during our typical lunch hour games. I, like so many others respected Carole for her warm personality and wisdom, and in my youth, her guidance. I am very sorry to all of you for her passing and the loss to our Syrian Community.

gary hendy

16 février 2024

Tina Morad

Dear Family Anto,

My deepest condolences to the family. I was fortunate to have had her as a kind and caring teacher. Outside of class she always acknowledged me and was generally interested in my life and well-being, which is a special quality to have.

My father George Morad wanted to go to the funeral, but with his ailing health situation he is unable to attend. He would like send his deepest condolences and is sorry that he can't be there in person.

Sincerely,

Tina and George Morad

Tina Morad

16 février 2024

Celia Kobric

I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. Miss Anto, I can’t call her by any other name, was my grade 6 teacher many years ago. I was in her first class. She was so wonderful. Kind, generous, thoughtful and beautiful. Inside and out. She was my favourite teacher. I think of her fondly. Please accept my sincere condolences.
Celia Gillman Kobric

Celia Kobric

16 février 2024

You will be greatly missed and never forgotten

Seems like everybody I knew wanted to have Miss Anto as their teacher and with reason. She was the best … be that as a teacher or through her kindness and caring or being a great listener just to name a few. If you had the honor of knowing Carole outside of teaching then you knew her passion went beyond extending to all she did. Showing compassion to all she met, those that needed help, always providing a helping hand, never taking credit nor asking for help.

Miss Anto, you will be greatly missed and also greatly remembered as a kind hearted generous person to look up to and model ourselves to.

Aline, my heart goes out to you and all your family. You know that my mom and I will always be there for you anytime.

Dave Zako

16 février 2024

Chère Aline

Toutes mes pensées positives sont tournées vers toi. I am so sorry for your loss. I know how much she was important for you. Life will never be the same but may happy memories carry you through this sorrowful time.
Toutes mes sympathies à toi et toute ta famille .
Amicalement Sylvie .

Sylvie Beaulieu

16 février 2024

Dany Bergeron

Malgré notre absence, toutes nos pensées vous accompagnent
pour vous réconforter en ces temps difficiles.

Dany Bergeron

15 février 2024

Condolences to Aline and her family

How incredibly sad that Carole has left us. She was a beautiful lady in so many ways. Her devotion to care for others was an inspiration and her kindness had no boundaries. She was a great listener and truly wanted the best for everyone. She never backed away from a challenge, whether it was helping to organize a golf tournament or learning to play bridge. There was always something to admire about Carole.
Our sympathies, thoughts and prayers go out to her sister Aline and family.
Shirley, Judy and Marlyne

Shirley Anto

15 février 2024

Décès de Carole

J’ai appris avec beaucoup de peine le décès de Carole ! Une personne tellement gentille et qui a fait beaucoup de bien pour la communauté…

Son implication et dévouement t à la paroisse St Éphrem était tout à fait remarquable.

Je tiens à souhaiter à la famille mes plus sincères condoléances.

Je ne pourrai pas assister aux obsèques étant à l’extérieur ,mais mes pensées vous accompagnent durant cette épreuve.

Bon courage

Allan Abdalla

15 février 2024

Condolences

Please accept our sincere condolences on the passing of this gracious lady !

Rita Ishak Hammamji

14 février 2024

Mes sympathies a Aline et sa soeur eta ces survivants

Aline...
I just wanted to say that i loved her (Carol) very much and she will be miss.
But she will be with me in my heart for the rest of my life.
My most sincere sympathies

Pierre Coté
207 Wood st Sherbrooke

Pierre Coté

14 février 2024

Wayne Fortin

I knew Carol since I was a kid when she lived on Portland Street always was a friend! Sorry she passed my special thoughts are for Aline and the whole family SINCERELY WAYNE FORTIN

Wayne Fortin

14 février 2024

Brian Allatt

You were my best teacher ever. You inspired me and came out to encourage me when I needed it. I give my deepest condolences to the Anto family. She will be missed, best teacher ever!

Brian Allatt

14 février 2024

Deepest condoleances

As a former student in the younger grades, I always kept great memories of Miss Anto's kindness and openess. My deepest sympathies go to her family and friends. "Rest in peace, you will never be forgotten Miss Anto."

Pascale Dauphinais (last name Coffin then)

14 février 2024

Sandra Hendy Proulx

Dear Carole, I will miss you soo much! Wish I would have had more time to spend with you and Aline before the end. I promise to help Aline in what ever she needs when I can. She will need help and compagnonship. So Carole, I promise to to help like you always did until she is OK.
Love you both, Sandra xxx

Sandra Hendy Proulx

13 février 2024

Hayley

Carole was an amazing woman and teacher.. she will be missed! RIP Miss Anto

Hayley

13 février 2024

lawrence smith

Dear Aline and Family

Please accept our deepest sympathy, on the passing of Carole. She was a very kind person, and a wonderful teacher, to so many children.

Larry, Lisette, Ian, Stephanie Smith

lawrence smith

13 février 2024

Carol Anto

It is with the deepest sympathy that I write this message for all the family and friends of Carol. It deeply disturbs me that this has all happened at a time where I have just lost my husband, and that I am presently out of the country. I feel and have felt so helpless, as Carol was going through her illness. I so wished I could have been more present. It is still very fresh in my mind as I journeyed through the cruel invasion of our bodies by cancer. How difficult it is to see a loved one go through this.

Carol was a wonderful person in many ways. She had a curious mind and her kindness knew no bounds, just to mention two. It was a privilege to have known her, and to have shared our love of bridge.

May you find comfort in the fond memories that you share and her many accomplishments that have left a lasting legacy for many of her students.

Carolyn Jones

12 février 2024

Patrick CLOWERY

Sincere condolences to Aline and the Anto family on the passing of Carole.
I worked with Carole for many years at S.E.S. She was such a great teacher that was loved and respected by her students and colleagues.
R>i>p. dear Carole !

Patrick CLOWERY

12 février 2024

Patricia Simons

Dear family of Carole Anto,
So very sorry to hear of the passing of my very special grade 6 teacher.
Miss Anto had me sit with a struggling student who needed 1:1 assistance. This seating arrangement brought out the teacher in me. I became a nurse, staff educator and nurse manager.
I will always remember how her kindness inspired us to do our very best on what ever project we worked on. We loved and respected her.
Thank you, Miss Anto for being a teacher who made a big difference for each and every student. You touched many lives of students and their families. I am very sad that Miss Anto has passed from this world. May she rest in peace.
Sending heartfelt condolences from our family, my Mom, Beverly Beattie Simons and sister Wendy Simons Hayes. Mom started school with Aline, Carole's older sister.

Patricia Simons

12 février 2024

christine szekely

To Miss Anto's family , I am so sorry for your loss of this beautiful soul . She was an amazing, understanding and kind teacher and a wonderful friend when I got older . I will miss our chats . My heart is broken . Hugs to you all , Christine Szekely ❤️

christine szekely

12 février 2024

Avis de décès

Pour rendre un dernier hommage et connaître les détails des cérémonies et funérailles.

Consultez les avis de décès